This week, we had the awesome opportunity to enjoy a lecture given by Lance Weiler. During the lecture, Lance discussed his previous projects such as Laika’s adventure as well as Pandemic 1.0 and many more. He basically explained his approach to each of the projects and how it all comes down to the story that you’re telling through the project. One of the most important things that I took away from this lecture was that when creating any type of work, you should also focus on the participation of the audience in order to keep and arouse even more interest in the project.

I also really liked how Lance Weiler used the data collected from his audience to further the story that’s being told through the project. In this way, Weiler creates a direct connection between the audience (participating members in the project Pandemic 1.0) and the project itself, as it’s taking their own information and transforming it into part of the story. I thought this was a really creative way to make the project more interactive and realistic as well as create a deeper presence of the project as a whole. This is because their use of data simulates real data itself. Hence, the Pandemic 1.0 “Universe” is spreading and growing progressively as more and more people are involved and “affected”.

To conclude, I’m really grateful to have had the opportunity to see that lecture as I truly appreciate the advice and perspective of such a talented story-teller.

I can’t wait to start more of my own projects and work on my own story-telling abilities as I now have a better understanding of what that’s all about.

Thanks for reading,

Marie-Claire

