I thought it would be helpful to use this week’s blog to reflect on what inspired me for my album art project.

First and foremost, I find it awesome that I actually get to create an album cover as a project for school. As a musician and a busy student, creating an album cover was always something I wanted to do but I never set aside enough time to do it. So you could imagine my excitement at the opportunity!

As for my inspiration for my project, I’ve been paying more attention to graphic design as well as typography and photography (I’ve been following more blogs and other various sites) and I’ve been discovering a lot of different elements in art that I’m truly appreciating for the first time. I didn’t think I expected to be so affected by typography as I was, when entering this class. But I’m very glad that I’ve discovered the importance and power of great use of typography (Huge thanks to Jessica, who specializes in typography, and her lecture during last weeks lab; it was so useful, interesting and inspiring). I’ve found myself reflecting a lot more of what font to use in my projects and I’ve really found how influential typography is.

Also, I’ve tried to incorporate the principles of design into my album art. (Because I’ve made more than one album cover in the past, I can practice repetition in the consistency of my “brand” that I’ve created in my past album artwork.) 

I’ve been paying attention to many different graphic design sites such as Pinterest. And I’ve found many different designs that have inspired me and definitely made me rethink the power of design. Here’s an example of a picture that really interested me.

 Image

I found it very interesting in that with simple geometric shapes and some really cool textures and fonts, the artist was able to tie the whole picture together in a very simple yet eye-pleasing way.

I also tried to incorporate this same principle in my album cover. I really thought over the whole concept of my design and tried to keep it simple but still interesting. I worked with the colours that I initially had in the pictures I used, but also tried to simplify it a little and work through the mood I was trying to send. 

In next week’s blog, I’ll explain my concept at creating my album art/cover and describe what inspired me to create the album cover and make it the way that I chose to. 

For now, I’ll leave you with this beautiful picture I found on the site from the same user as the picture above

(http://leifpodhajsky.com)

Have a great week and thanks for reading!

-Marie-Claire

Image

