I thought it would be wise to share some of my inspirations that influenced my projects during the term, as this school’s term is already coming to a close.

As I’ve mentioned in my “About” page, I’m a very passionate musician, and I’m very dedicated to the music aspect of my life. However, I’ve always had a love for digital media (web-design and digital arts). So I really enjoyed having the opportunity this semester to link these two wonderful aspects of myself together.

I used every opportunity I had to bring in my own personality into my creations this semester, as I wanted to convey more efficiently and honestly who I am. So for instance, my album cover was one of my favourite projects this whole semester, because I felt I was most motivated towards it. Also, it helped me consider many elements about an album cover for myself, and gave me a lot more working material, or even a full fledged draft of copy of an album cover for my potential future albums.

To really demonstrate how much this class has influenced my vision on design concepts as far as album art is concerned, here’s an example of an album cover I made prior to the class.

3607591543-1

Pretty and effective, this gets the message across, but I think I took a lot away from this class and it’s really demonstrated in my new album art that I made for class.

MCDuquette_CDcover

This presents a whole other side of my personality and brings a lot more life and character into the picture. I really enjoyed improving on my design skills and I truly loved learning about digital media as I think it’s such an important part of the industry and it’s really crucial for us to be aware of this.

I think the musician aspect of my personality has been a reoccurring theme throughout my projects in this class. Another great example of this would be my motion graphics assignment, as I recorded all the music myself. I think that added a lot of my personality and in a way a lot more depth in this theme of my musical identity. It’s as if through each of my projects, I went farther and farther into demonstrating who I am as a musician and showing what it is I’m passionate for.

I really loved my time in this class, and I really enjoyed learning all these wonderful and useful skills that I had never thought about learning but, inevitably, had come across many times throughout my years of exploration of web-design and graphics.

I thought I’d share a couple of my old layouts that I created a long time ago, just to show what kind of digital arts I was into- not too long ago, and still am very much interested in. But before I leave you with these pictures, I just wanted to thank my instructors Ramona Pringle and Ginger Jarvis, as they have both been wonderful inspirations for me during this whole term. I’d also like to thank them for being such great teachers and giving us great lessons that will stick with us throughout our careers. I’m so grateful to have had the opportunity to work with and be taught by such wonderful people.

And now, without any further ado… Here are some examples of my work that I made for my old piczo sites (piczo is now closing down, so unfortunately I can’t share the site with you).

fleurlytby-fleur-delacour-omgadambrodylytdarkgreenmischablytrachelblytbybh

This shows my initial interest in digital media and graphic design, but I really enjoyed expanding on my knowledge on this subject.

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed this journey through digital media as much as I have!

-MC

